Physicians for a Healthy Central Coast

To help people and our community be
healthier, safe, and resilient

CollegeToDoctor image

CruzMed Foundation



Physicians for a Healthy Central Coast is a collaborative community and physician-led subsidiary 501(c)(3) public benefit corporation of the Santa Cruz County Medical Society.  Project funding is derived from the medical community, private donors, businesses and foundations.

If you would like to be involved, volunteer, or donate, please call (831) 479-7226.


To help people and our community be healthier, safe, and resilient, and serve as a leader in fostering and supporting careers in medicine.

To fulfill it's mission, PHCC acts as a bridge linking physicians and other medical and public health professionals to the community through the works of the foundation. We work in collaboration with our partners to support the improvement of health for all who live, work and play in our county.


Workforce - Supporting current and next generation physicians.  Driving the discovery for developing and deploying actions to address the physician shortage in our county and region, supporting youth interest and engagement in health sciences, and fostering careers in medicine. 

Wellness - With a public health focus, leading and engaging in community collaborations/partnerships that promote well-being, healthy eating, active living, and safety and resliliency throughout Santa Cruz County.


Workforce - Pipeline

  • Future Docs! - Pipeline & Physician Workforce Commission
  • Family Residency Program
  • Bridge to Medicine! - Shadowing for pre-med students
  • Decision Medicine! - Youth Mentorships through programs such as UCSC MESA Schools Program (Mathematics, Engineering, and Science Achievement)

Wellness - Public Health


Board of Directors (BOD)

Christopher O'Grady MD
Pajaro Valley Medical Clinic

Jack Watson, MD
Kaiser Watsonville

Past President
Jeannine Rodems, MD
Santa Cruz Direct Primary Care

Vice President
To be appointed

Grant Hartzog
Professor, MCD Biology, UCSC

Donna J. Odryna

BOD Meets Bi-Monthly beginning January.


Joydip Bhattacharya, DO
Founding President

David McNutt, MD
Founding Secretary

David South, MD
Founding Treasurer

Willie Elliott-McCrae
Founding Director

Donna Odryna
Founding Director