In 2023, the Santa Cruz Monterey Medical Association Foundation (SCMMAF) formed by combining two longstanding non-profit organizations – the Physicians for a Healthy Central Coast and the Cypress Foundation. Now, the consolidated Foundation, a 501(c)(3) non-profit public benefit corporation, continues as the philanthropic arm of the Santa Cruz Monterey Medical Association. 


Support physicians throughout their career, foster careers in medicine, and promote physician well-being and the health of the community. 

To fulfill its mission, the SCMMA Foundation acts as a bridge linking physicians and other community health leaders through the works of the foundation. We work in collaboration with our partners to support the improvement of patient health and access to physicians for all who live, work and play in Santa Cruz and Monterey Counties.

Strategic Themes

The following strategic themes represent key priorities and aspirations that will drive the Foundation's core program strategies.

I. Physician Workforce - Support of medical students and residents. Partnerships and programs that support pathways to medicine and encourage youth interest in health sciences foster careers in medicine. Physicians serving as mentors to the next generation of providers.

II. Physician Well-Being -- Access to physician centric resources and opportunities that support professional and personal fulfillment.

III. Medical Practice Support - Connecting physicians and their practices with resources and services that support high quality patient care. 

IV. Health, Safety, and Resiliency - Ignite physician interest and participation in emergency and disaster response. Partnering with key stakeholders to amplify health messaging for improved community health. 


SCMMAF Board of Directors

Alfred Sadler, MD FACP

Chairman of the Board
Jack Watson, MD
Kaiser Permanente Watsonville

Violetta Barroso, MD
Kaiser Permanente, Watsonville

Grant Hartzog
Professor, MCD Biology, UCSC

Anastasia Klick, MD
Salinas Valley Medical Clinic, Primecare

Donna J. Odryna
Executive Director, SCMMA/SCMMAF

Immediate Past President
Christopher O'Grady MD
Pajaro Valley Medical Clinic

Director & Past President
Jeannine Rodems, MD
Santa Cruz Direct Primary Care

Valerie Berry, MD

Melissa Nothnagle, MD MSc
Family Medicine Residency Program, Natividad


SCMMAF was founded as CruzMed Foundation in 2012, the name changed to Physicians for a Healthy Central Coast in 2017.

Joydip Bhattacharya, DO
Founding President

David McNutt, MD
Founding Secretary

David South, MD
Founding Treasurer

Willie Elliott-McCrae
Founding Director

Donna Odryna
Founding Director